Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  

Well, maybe not a barrel, but a bowl.  A curvy, thick, imperfect round glass bowl. Or a mason-jar. On a windowsill. 

  How about at night in low light?  Or as a beam of sunlight turns a shard of water into a prism through which the voluptuous veils dance?  How about a super-close-up;? Just try to get that keen eye and pugnacious mug in focus.

Now, try shooting tiny, fast-moving fish in little round bowls. (Remember, in macro-mode, everything seems to move faster!)  The fish can be a betta, guppy, even a goldfish. Just as long as it’s happy in a bowl for a while. Try playing with your f-stop (depth of field) and shutter speed to get the effects you want at such close range with something that darts away as soon as you get the shot framed.

FlyingBetta. Photo: Cathy Taibbi

Talk about a challenge — but the rewards, if you’re into odd, unexpected or more creative results, are worth pursuing.

I’ll be the first to admit, I am not a good photographer.  I love to play at it, though, and can waste an entire day messing around like this, trying to get just one decent capture that I think looks cool.

Moonlight Veils. Photo: Cathy Taibbi

These may not be great shots (or even ‘good’ shots) if you’re a professional or advanced amateure photographer; but just for some inspiration, I’m bravely putting them here for your inspiration. Or sympathy.  Whatever works.

Two Guppies. Photo: Cathy Taibbi

Evidently my preferred artistic photo style is called ‘photo-impressionism’.  For me it’s not about using Photoshop to add textures, or anything else, for effect.  It’s about capturing the image I see, with my eye, when drinking in the feast of color, shape and motion (gesture).  Since I also paint, I tend to like the painterly feeling of certain photos. It’s something that’s hard to put into words, but when I see it, I know it.  Hence my  slogan, “I like photographs that look like paintings.”

I’ve seen some delicious, thrilling works. Too bad they’re not mine.

If you want to see some impressive stuff, check this out.  There is an entire, wonderful website about this hobby, called the Aquatic Photography Forum. Now THESE guys know how to shoot fish!

Painted Guppies. Photo: Cathy Taibbi

Now I invite you to share YOUR images.  They can be traditional,  or painterly. If you share a link to your page (or a photo file), in an email, and I like your aquatic animal images, I can include your link or file in an upcoming post.  (Of course, watermark or otherwise sign your image, for your protection.)

 Can’t wait to see what you share!

(All photos taken with Nikon D-90.)

